Paul Harvey, RIP

If ever the simple spoken word was elevated to an art form, it was in the voice of Paul Harvey.

As a kid, I remember listening to his broadcast on my grandparents giant radio/record player. It was furniture. And Paul Harvey’s voice, those drawn-out but perfectly-timed pauses, was utterly captivating.

But my favorite broadcast of his had to be the time he broke the news of the Notorious B.I.G.’s death to me. I literally could not stop laughing as this icon of conservative middle America, someone indelibly linked to my grandparents’ generation, relayed the details of the death of “Biggie Smalls” and the east-west coast hip-hop rivalry that spawned his murder. It was awesome.

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

One thought

  1. The work ethic of Paul Harvey and his integrity as a person was way above the norm. Paul Harvey was one of my favorites when I was growing up. Paul Harvey was a one of a kind and he will be missed.

Leave a Reply

