“Schools here in Berkeley” update

Seems I wasn’t the only one a little miffed by Alice Waters’ well-meaning but pretentious proposal for school lunch reform.

I got a little irked when I saw Waters throwing around terms like “organic” and “locally produced” in her proposal. I enjoy foodie pretension as much as the next guy (ask me about my strongly-held opinions regarding shallots as a sandwich onion replacement!), but dicking around with that nonsense while middle schoolers are contracting diabetes is frankly inexcusable.  This crusade deserves to happen, but Waters is the wrong person to lead it.

The whole thing here.

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

2 thoughts

  1. Let’s at least give Alice credit for jump-starting this conversation. She may not have the answer, but the status quo is unacceptable.

    Bring back school kitchens!

Leave a Reply

