A children’s treasury of passive-aggression

Apparently the potential use of stimulus funds to help construct a community pavilion, educational center and farmers market has touched a nerve. Who knew the nice folks at the farmers market were such an unspeakable scourge?

Oh, and I’d I’d love to see one of these people call Jim Crocker a hippie to his face.

To quote Wonkette, imagine waking up every morning as these people, having to know who you are:

Farmers, always looking for another government program.

Maybe we can scratch up a few turnips there, and sell them at your new Farmer’s Lounge and Bistro. ck

Damn hippies.

to charge me almost $2 a lb for tomatoes. was a RIP OFF!

the venders do gouge us UNMERCIFULLY in the farmer’s markets.

GREED

Hippie-farmers,

This crap is the same mind-set that got the “Big 3” in the trouble they are in. Wake up!

Perhaps a little less tofu and bean sprouts, and more protein in your diet would make you happier.

Well. Reasonable people may oppose the stimulus package. Reasonable people may oppose the use of the stimulus package for this purpose. But most of this is just vile, unhinged craziness.

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

4 thoughts

  1. I’ll be honest that I’m a bit torn as to whether or not funds should be used for the Pavillion or not, but I completely disagree with every comment that was quoted above. It’s pathetic, there’s really no other word to describe it.

    I actually laughed out loud reading Scott’s comment about Jim. The brief interactions I’ve had at the market with the Crocker’s caused that laughter. They’re really good, down-to-earth people. Additionally, Jim strikes me as someone who owns a gun rack, which is necessary because he also owns guns…I’m just sayin’….

  2. In a perfect world the pavilion would be built through private donations, loans and some combination of city/county financial mechanisms. But that was always going to be a very long, drawn-out process with a very real chance of never coming to fruition. The economic downturn – however long it might last – would put us even further from the finish line.

    I look at it this way: that $2.5 million is going to be spent. If we have an actionable plan that will provide immediate economic impact and lasting benefits, I don’t think we can opt out on the basis of philosophical ambivalence.

    It’s a gray area – for you and most other people who trend fiscally conservative. But it would appear that we’re through the looking glass with the economy here and nobody trustworthy claims to know exactly what would work. The smartest people in the room say “inject immediate spending,” so that’s where I am – even if I have to hold my nose a bit.

    And if you’re (not you, Ryan, but people in general) are going to shout to the rafters about deficit spending now, you’d better be hoarse from yelling the past eight years.

  3. If I could somehow make this font smaller to show that my “voice” (typed, but whatever) is hoarse I would. I guess to clarify my position, I’d start with stating that it appears that we agree for the most part. I don’t like the plan at all. BUT, if that money is going to be spent anyway, we might as well get while the gettin’ is good. My biggest beef wasn’t that the bill exists necessarily, but that it’s being touted as a stimulus bill. I don’t see how spending $1.1 billion on healthcare research or $140 million for volcano monitoring will stimulate the economy. But, smarter people than I pushed the ‘yes’ button and it’s coming our way regardless of my, and a good portion of the American public’s, beliefs.

    Indoor farmer’s market would be cool though. 🙂

  4. Well, for the record, the $140 million Gov. Jindal mentioned last night is going to the U.S. Geological Survey. Volcano-monitoring is only a tiny part of that. Your overall trepidation, however, is warranted.

Leave a Reply

