Downtown projects seeking TIF help

A number of people will find this encouraging:

Retail will be housed in the first level, and the developers would like to see a grocery store such as Trader Joe’s or Whole Foods locate there.

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

5 thoughts

  1. My last comment of the night…

    hell, I alone have probably sent Trader Joe’s about 40 emails imploring them to open up here! If these guys can guarantee them as tenants, then I could care less how they get the money. hehehehehehehehe

    (and on that note, I stopped at TJ’s on my way home from the airport yesterday and I have a fresh flatbread pizza ready for the oven as soon as I finish catching up on my SME. Of course, I did have an appetizer of English Toffee and a handful of Sweet & Savory Trail Mix just to round things out. I get so excited by my TJ’s loot I don’t know what to eat first!)

  2. Well, that’s why I said “a number of people” and not “I.” We lived near Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s in Virginia/D.C. They’re fine, but I was never as much of a die-hard as Pam (who is certainly not alone in her TJ’s love). I’m sure The Root Cellar, among others, would not be amused by new arrivals downtown.

  3. I, too, have mixed feelings about a chain like TJs or WF opening up downtown. I would like to see people patronize the great locally owned businesses that have worked hard to sell to the healthy/international-flavored/organic market.

    I don’t think a grocery store in downtown, or close to downtown is a bad idea, but I worry about the rush to over-gentrify downtown in an attempt to appear cosmopolitan.

    Keep Columbia weird, I say.

  4. I admit it: I am a corporate whore when it comes to Trader Joe’s (it only happens one other time in my life and that would be Barnes & Noble…god I love that place.) I don’t eat in chain restaurants and look down my nose at grocery vegetables presented out of season and from halfway around the world.

    I have tried to find a 10 step program for my addiction but the PDR doesn’t recognize my affliction. It’s just the cross I bear….I am powerless over my love of Trader Joe’s (although I do come by it naturally, I grew up in Southern California and TJ’s was our local grocery store. So basically, I am blaming my mother for another issue in my life hehehehehe)

    😉

Leave a Reply

