The economics of food

It would be easy to unpack any of a number of conclusions from this story in the WSJ on how the economy is impacting food-purchasing decisions. Fewer people going out to restaurants, more vegetables and home cooking. McDonald’s cashing in. It’s all over the place, but an interesting read.

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

2 thoughts

  1. Interesting. I think that one benefit of the bad economy is that it might make people more cognizant not only of how much money they spend, but what they’re spending it on. I don’t know that I spend significantly less than I did before, but I’m more mindful of what I am buying and the ramifications of my decisions as a consumer.

    For example, I’ve always shopped at the farmer’s market, but I think this year I’ll go out of my way to make more purchases there, because I feel like my dollars will support something local, more sustainable and more personal than what I buy at the supermarket. I can see how the money I spend goes directly to the producer, rather than winding its way up a corporate chain where everyone takes a chunk from it. The produce there is also much fresher, which means that what I buy will last longer if I don’t get to use it right away.

  2. Agreed, rweater. Almost without exception locally-bought food does indeed keep longer. I worked a head of Napa cabbage I bought a month ago locally into a stir fry last night. Still have one more to go, and they’re only slightly wilting at the very top of the leaves.

Leave a Reply

