Dinner for ten

I’ve been on a bit of an Italian kick lately (ravioli, to give just one example). Paging through my various Italian cookbooks I have found it impossible to choose. Ooh, I’d love to try Tuscan beans, I tell myself, but what about some pasta? Polenta’d be nice, I nudge, but maybe I’d rather try my hand at pancetta? So I said screw it, I’ll just make it all. Unfortunately, preparing loads of Italian food for two adults doesn’t make much sense, so I invited some friends over. We’ll have ten for dinner Sunday night.

Then, being the glutton for punishment that I am, I challenged, “What if you tried to source as much of it as possible from Missouri?” After all, southern Missouri marks the northernmost reach of the humid subtropical climate classification (“hot, humid summers and chilly to mild winters” sound familiar?), which includes most of northern inland Italy like Parma and Milan. We’re not that far off. I’d see what I could do.

So we’ll have ten people over for a semi-traditional Italian meal, with most of the ingredients coming from Missouri. Here’s the menu as it stands right now. It could change based on availability of some ingredients come Saturday or Sunday, but I have most of them reserved. Here goes, with asterisks by the totally or mostly-local items.

Antipasti
Mixed marinated olives
Bruschetta* with black kale*
Beets and arugula*
White beans with olive oil, shaved fennel and parmigiano
Eggs* with parsley sauce*
Stuffed piquante peppers
Pickled Missouri Black Walnuts*

Primi
Chestnut* and mushroom* ravioli* with olive oil, pine nuts and homemade pancetta*

Secondi
Pork chops* and polenta*

Contorno
Shredded Napa cabbage* with Missouri Northern Pecans*

Cheese
Prima Donna

Dolce
Chocolate ganache*

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

7 thoughts

  1. It’s now official: my 2009 resolution is to somehow finagle an invitation to one of your parties!

    that is a fabulous menu!

  2. I agree with Pam. You need to invite your blogosphere to one of these things. I am a great party guest.

    See that could be even more of a challenge – to invite people, some of whom you’ve never even met, over for dinner. I am sure Mrs. SME would love that.

Leave a Reply

