Los Cuates

“You smell like food,” she asked. “Where’ve you been?”

I checked my shirt and no, I wasn’t wearing any food. But Mrs. SME could smell the tamale ten feet away. I was caught, the only option a complete confession.

“Um, I stopped at Los Cuates on the way home. Did you know they have tamales?”

She crossed her arms, mollified, and more than a little impressed by her olfactory powers. I assured her it would not spoil our date night dinner plans and, Murry’s being Murry’s, it didn’t.

If last year was the year of porchetta, 2009 is shaping up as the Year of the Tamale. We have a worthy addition to the genre at the Los Cuates on Bernadette Ave. And it costs one dollar.

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

4 thoughts

  1. What do you usually get at Murry’s? We’ve been a handful of times, and, while satisfied with my meals there, I’ve never found anything I loved.

    Also, just as an FYI, the singular of “tamale” is actually tamal.

  2. Touche. I 100% did not know that.

    At Murry’s I like the fried oysters and chicken poblano. The fries are great too. A lot of people dig the filet.

  3. I like the oysters, the pepper rings and the fries. Oh, and the bread with the cheese, etc. smothered all over it.

    I do not recall ever having anything I did not like.

    It is pub fare and not 5 star, but enjoyable nonetheless.

    I also did not know there was a singular of tamale. I will have to try Los Cuates. Never even heard of it.

  4. The market part of Los Cuates (which has a sister store on Paris Road) has been open for some time. In a broken English-Spanish conversation with one of the employees I gathered (I think) that the restaurant function opened January 9th.

    They had a variety of tacos available among other offerings. Lengua, chicharrones, etc. Will have to go back and explore more fully.

    They’re open for lunch and until 9pm at night. Some Spanish ability helpful, but not 100% necessary.

Leave a Reply

