Adios, Mexico

So, we’re back from the Yucatan. Lightly tanned and a couple of buffet-driven pounds heavier but otherwise unharmed. As I was part of a large family group, opportunities for snagging off-resort tacos and tamales were limited, but I did pretty well with the chances I had. I’ll write more about that later – there are 200 emails to dig through at work.

But for now I will say this: no taco I had in Mexico – not at the resort, not from a street vendor and not in a small town – was better than most I’ve had at Carlito’s or Taqueria El Rodeo. Granted, it was a small sample size, but we have at least two taco/Mexican places in town to be proud of.

(photo above of the Mayan ruins at Tulum)

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

3 thoughts

  1. Good to know about the tacos! If you don’t mind my asking, where did you stay in the Tulum area? I’m trying to convince my spouse that we need to go there.

  2. We stayed in Playa del Carmen, Cancun’s sleepier cousin to the south. It’s about an hour south of Cancun and 45 mins north of Tulum. I’d highly recommend it, especially if you’re interested in getting out into the countryside a bit.

    Tulum was interesting, but it isn’t nearly the best Mayan attraction. It wasn’t occupied that long or that early, at least as compared to other sites. It’s main attraction is that it’s right off the highway and is set on a beautiful cliff overlooking the Caribbean.

    I wanted to squeeze in a side-visit to the supposedly much more impressive ruins at Coba, but ran out of time. Valladolid and other cool jungle towns/villages dot the landscape but were close-by as well, but equally out of the question given our family and resort-oriented excursion.

    The people – even off the resort, where they have to be nice – were exceptionally friendly and amenable to my sad, broken Spanish. The food is a fun mix of Mayan and Mexican, lots of puerco pibil and stuff wrapped in banana leaves. More to come…

  3. Just for the record, Carlito’s is under new ownership. I had not been to Carlito’s before the new owner took over, but I am certain they have some of the best food around. From tacos to taquitos I was impressed. A few things to note: they are not open on the weekend and they do not take credit cards (cash or check only). But the plus side is a) the food is AWESOME b) they have a drive-thru.

Leave a Reply

