“She genuinely offends me.”

Anthony Bourdain is a cranky, snide bastard. He heaps unalloyed scorn on vegetarians, flays largely harmless celebrity chefs like Rachael Ray and is, by his own admission, an arrogant prick. Yet his “Kitchen Confidential” remains the funniest book I’ve ever read and his Travel Channel show is unfailingly informative and hilarious; it’s one of the few things I make a point to watch (because I am a parody of myself, Entourage and Italian soccer are two others). In this video he deigns, for some reason, to answer shockingly unimaginative questions from clowns.

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

3 thoughts

  1. I’m so with you on this. I dislike many of Bourdain’s opinions–particularly the two you mention (vegetarians and Rachel Ray), but I also love his show and his books. It’s hard to reconcile.

    I really don’t get his hatred of Rachel Ray. They are in completely different spheres. Bourdain shows us a world that we can only hope to visit (if we are lucky enough to have the money to do that kind of traveling). Rachel Ray shows us how to make easy (but usually tasty and wholesome) at home meals.

    We aren’t likely to be able to cook many of the things Bourdain tastes in his journeys (if for no other reason than we would be hard pressed to find many of the ingredients), but he shows us traditional foods in their cultural context. Rachel Ray isn’t trying to introduce us to world cultures, she is trying to give harried working folk simple, tasty and nutritious substitutes for take-out and frozen dinners. They have completely different spheres of influence, so why the hate?

  2. I find Ray more irritating than offensive. Her style is not my bag, so I don’t watch. At the same time, the celebrity “chefs” of the world have turned countless people on to cooking, even if they’re cutting corners. If it takes ridiculously cutesy lightweights like Rachael Ray to get that started, so be it. My hope is that the people eventually move on to chopping their own damn onions.

  3. I can only assume that a trained chef would be inclined to look down his nose at anyone who professes to cook, who is not a trained chef. That and Rachel Ray has fantastic monetary success, appears to have done it with relative ease, both of which probably rubs Anthony’s nose in it.

    Given Anthony’s personality, he may just not like the color of her hair!

    There is room in the food world for all comers in my humble opinion. If you can make it big in the food world, more power to you.

    I personally like them both. Rachel’s incessant perkiness and weird word appellations like “EVOO” sometimes drive me crazy.

Leave a Reply

