The Chocolate Whisperer

Also, Marcia pens a very nice profile on Alan McClure, local chocolate perfectionist-extraordinaire.

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

3 thoughts

  1. I got some of his 67% cacao chocolate from The Root Cellar awhile back, and oh my goodness, this is some of the best chocolate I’ve ever had. I need to pick some up again this weekend, I want to try baking with it, rather than just savoring it. I love me some dark chocolate.

  2. Alan does indeed have some good chocolate. Like most people, I’d never thought much about the stuff. Hey, it’s just chocolate, right?

    Alan’s is different, and Marcia’s wine and fruitiness references are spot-on. The first time I tasted it the layers were shocking. Like good wine, the chocolate revealed itself slowly, in waves. My square of chocolate could have been a bowl of ripe cherries. Future tastings (and sharings with others) have shown that I’m not alone; this is a special product. Buy some, and know chocolate.

  3. I was very excited to learn about a local chocolatier. I had previousy heard about the Springfield, MO company metioned in the article and was excited about that, but local … excellent!

    I really like the movements of local production and buying, smaller scale local production, and even non-chain stores and restuarants. I have artistic tendencies and to me, local production of food is an art form as well as a business.

Leave a Reply

