Mugs Up (or, “Wherein I commit heresy”)

Mugs Up is older than the Heidelberg, Harpos and virtually every other Columbia dining spot (can anyone name one that’s older?). They’ve been slinging their signature zips and chili dogs just off of Highway 40 (now Business Loop 70) since 1955. They are as true a Columbia institution as you can get. And here’s where I get off track: the sloppy joe “burgers” at Mugs Up? They’re really not my bag. And maybe I shouldn’t say this, but the root beer tastes a little watery. To me. I know, the ghost of Raymond Kewley is going to visit me in my dreams shortly and open up a can, bigtime. It’s just something I’m going to have to deal with.

No, the real reason I go to Mugs Up is for those chili cheese dogs. Sonic, with their absurd, soggy, warmed-over chili monstrosity, is a mess compared to Mugs Up’s neat, snappy little dogs. They’re fantastic, and I can’t eat fewer than two. For those not in the know Mugs Up is behind the Family Table restaurant and across from Parkade Plaza on Business Loop 70. But time’s running out to catch them this year; they’ll close down for the winter in another month or two.

Mugs Up
603 Orange St.
Columbia, MO
(573) 443-7238

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

One thought

Leave a Reply

