Newbie of Note: ABC Chinese Cuisine

photo

Few things are more fun than what gets lost in translation from Korean or Chinese to English. You end up with nonsense like restaurants called “Red Thread” and “ABC Chinese Cuisine.” Nobody with a firm grasp on the English language (or their senses) would name a restaurant these things, but I bet they make great sense in their native tongues.

Regardless, ABC Chinese Cuisine is a real restaurant in Columbia and, judging by an early visit and some corroborating input, a serious player.

Exhibit A is their menu, which is chock full of things like “Stewed Intestines,” “Spicy Fish Head” and “Pork Liver Soup.” I don’t know that I’m going to actually order one of those dishes, but putting them on the menu tells me your kitchen is not foolin’ around. What I ordered – and now we’re back to the lost in translation bit – was called “Water Boiled Fish.” Sounds lame, right? It is pictured above, and definitely not lame.

photo copyWhat it is is lightly fried sole in a delicately-flavored broth/sauce; something between a stew and a soup. True to the pepper to the right of its listing on the menu, it was hot. Not incendiary, but definitely not for the Scoville-phobic.

ABC also offers dim sum during all hours of operation, so you can come in with a few friends and order what amount to Chinese tapas for all to share.

The location just east of the hellhole that is the I-70/63 interchange presents some challenges, but if you find yourself on Keene Street as often as I do (pediatrician, pediatrician, ENT. ENT, ENT, pediatrician), I think you’ll find it a worthy lunch. Bonus: When you’re done with your meal you can stock up on Asian foodstuffs (and, sometimes, live tilapia) at Hong Kong Market, which is next door.

ABC Chinese Cuisine
3510 I-70 Drive SE Suite A
Columbia, MO.
(573) 443-3535

Tags:

5 Responses to “Newbie of Note: ABC Chinese Cuisine”

  1. dorothy ballew Says:

    ABC definitely on my “A” list after one visit (thanks for the heads up)!! However, don’t think I’ll try the chicken feet on the dim sum menu

    DOROTHY G. BALLEW

    Date: Mon, 18 Feb 2013 20:51:05 +0000 To: dorothy.b@hotmail.com

  2. Monty Says:

    The egg roll was a tad bit odd but they are house made they said. I’ll go back again some day.

  3. kay Says:

    First of all, I’ll take all the chicken feet Dorothy doesn’t want. They are one of my favorites.

    My daughter picked up a whole duck (cut up) for a Chinese new year feast the other weekend, and it was quite good. They even included the head!

    As for how “ABC” sounds in Chinese, I’m not sure that would make sense, since Chinese is not an alphabetic language!

  4. Sg Says:

    The son of the owner told me that ABC stands for American Born Chinese. I don’t know if it is true or not…

  5. mcdonalds free coupons Says:

    This is a great tip particularly to those new to the blogosphere.
    Simple but very accurate info… Appreciate your sharing this one.
    A must read article!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,119 other followers

