Makings of late

I’ve been on an experimental kick lately. Here’s what I’ve been messing with:

UPDATE: I made Caveman porterhouse steak last night – it gets my 100% seal of approval. One of the better steaks I’ve ever cooked. 4 minutes on one side, 3 on the other. Perfect.

Leek and Kale Soup. My attempt at recreating a memorable soup we had at Broadway Brewery was an unconditional smash. The kids wouldn’t stop eating it. We couldn’t stop eating it. My version cut the potatoes by half, added a cup of corn cut from the cob and one of shredded carrots, all before blending. Oh, and I used chicken stock instead of veggie. And half and half instead of skim…well shit, it’s not even the same recipe at this point. Whatever, I highly recommend.

Homemade granola bars. Tasty enough, but didn’t fare well when I tried to cut into bars. Probably too wet.

Pickled carrots. Still curing…stay tuned.

Pickled okra. Will be ready in 3-4 more weeks.

Jim Lahey’s pizza. So, so good. The kids and I polished off the cookie sheet-sized pizza ourselves. The sauce is pureed canned tomatoes (Cento), olive oil and salt. Awesome.

Bruschetta with Sauteed Radish. Wow. Mrs. SMEs thought I should dice the radish so it stays on the bread better, but man, wow. Just a spectacularly simple and fetching dish. Make this immediately.

Coming soon:

Cacio e pepe.

Jim Lahey’s stecca.

Hassenpfeffer.

2 Responses to “Makings of late”

  1. Pam P Says:

    When I had the radish bruschetta at Taste by Niche I wasn’t expecting much. I was flattered, because the chef sent it over as a complimentary amuse bouche and I don’t hate radishes, but I don’t love them either, but oh my god! Who knew a radish could blow your mind?? It was so, so good. I was so excited to see the recipe in the new Bon Appetit. Since that night at Taste, I have added radishes to my roasted veggie mix and they are superb with the carrots and zucchini I usually roast. yum!

    I think I might need a Jim Lahey primer. My no-knead bread, while very tasty, has not risen like any of the pictures I have seen all over the web. I found the correct yeast he calls for and I am using my enamel cast iron dutch oven and I am following the recipe to the letter, but alas it stays a forlorn lump in the bottom of the pan :(

  2. Scott Says:

    It’s a mystery, Pam. Do you keep your house really cold? Assume you’re using bread flour. Are you measuring by weight rather than volume?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,118 other followers

