4 quick notes

Geisha: Not in the running for best sushi in Columbia, but not bad. Salmon was sweet, clean-tasting.

The Olive Cafe: Freezing cold restaurant, koftas were charred and dried out. Veggies got the incineration treatment too. Saffron rice was nice. Others on Yelp had better luck, so I’ll try again.

Das Stein Haus: Some of the best food in Jeff City, but feels like stepping into your crazy aunt’s attic. A bit smoky, too. Schnitzel, kraut, Helmut (owner/waiter) more than make up for it.

Love Sushi: Sushi that’s well above average – and the equal of anything in Columbia. Unagi was swoon-inducing, salmon and tuna excellent as well. Extra small plates – both before and after your meal – leaves a good impression. Strangely lukwarm gyoza a small downside. Otherwise, terrific.

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “4 quick notes”

  1. Mac Says:

    There is nothing like some good Unagi. The last 2 people I turned onto sushi, I did so with Unagi. That soy/carmel sauce is da shit!

  2. RW Says:

    I had a similar problem with the temperature in Olive Cafe. I had to eat with my coat on.

    It’s hard for me to evaluate Middle Eastern food, because I grew up in a heavily Arabic city. I realize that my bar is set unusually high and I try to be forgiving. I will say that their hummus is the closest I’ve found in Columbia to the hummus I grew up with–smooth and creamy. Their chicken shawarma was a little dry, but not terrible. Their pita tasted fresher than what I’ve had elsewhere in Columbia, even though it’s trucked in from KC.

    I wish the Middle Eastern places here would branch out a little more. The menus feel so limited to me. It can’t be that hard to make a decent fattoush instead of that lame iceberg “greek” salad everyone insists on. I wonder if Casablanca will expand their menu once they reopen in their new location.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,118 other followers

